The question of packaging

22 Jul

I have recently been making a few cravats and pocket squares and the thought came “well how do I display them?” Sometimes the packaging can be as important as the product as it is often the first thing people see. 

I got to thinking and ruled out bags because I felt a cravat needed something a little nicer to show off that it is an item that deserves something sturdy, a box. The box would need to be strong enough to stop it the cravat becoming creased in storage and to arrive in one piece when out for delivery. 

So what sort of box? It didn’t take me long for this part as I knew I wanted it to be a brown cardboard box and after a bit of googling I found a few websites that sold them and more importantly offered a free sample. 

A few emails later and then began the waiting for my samples. 

The first arrived and I drew up what I thought I wanted and was pretty happy. Image

But then my second box arrived and I was in love with it. It was a better shape and size and I could see a different design come into my mind. I wanted to head away from the cartoon side and do something a bit older, sketchier. It would still be playing on the idea of a Cravaten but without being so obvious with it. Hence the idea of a squid and a pocket watch. The link is tenuous at best but I think it makes the box look classy and if I received something gifted in a box like this I would be one happy girl. Image

It takes a bit of time and a fair few pages of my sketch book were used up on ideas and layout but now all my cravats are not only lovingly handmade, they come with an individually unique handdrawn box design with the option to have your own decoration drawn up to personalise it further for a tiny extra price.

There will also be some new cravats added after a shopping trip saw me purchase more fabric! 

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/156781476/mens-handmade-green-and-purple-paisley?

Leave a Reply

