Refurbished Coffee Table

26 Aug

In our flat we had a huge manly solid oak block coffee table. It was chunky and took up so much space! Once moved into our new house, it remained the same huge beast taking up its pride of place in front of the fire place blocking all the heat so it was time to look for a new table. 

Having sunk most of our money into house hold items and DIY this year I thought why not look into a second hand furniture shop to give refurbishing a go and so we headed over to the YMCA in Tunbridge Wells. There is some beautiful huge old furniture in there but again the thing there is huge! 

Eventually after a few Saturdays of looking Jonathan  stumbled across this horrible table for £10ImageI wasn’t sure what to do with it but for £10 why the hell not, even if it had a few little edges missing.

I thought on the idea of painting the table cream and doing some sort of black detailing and went to Homebase to get the things I needed, taking advantage of the Bank Holiday discounts they always have – I have never shopped there when everything is full priced!

Tools purchased: Cream and Black satin wood paint, clear wood varnish.

Then it was off to the sewing shop for a cushion pad and fabric as we wanted to make a comfortable bed for the cat to put on the bottom shelf. 

Items purchased: Rectangle foam pad and 1.2 meters of upholstery fabric. 

By this point the price has increased further than I had wanted to pay….£30 for the paint and varnish and an eye watering £30 for cushion pad supplies.

Nether the less I set about a light sanding of the table and applied the first layer of cream paint. 

ImageI was already amazed how different our ugly table was looking!

Next up came a second layer and a day later after drawing up what writing I wanted on the top and in what style I cut the stencils for my lettering out and placed them on the top (turns out what I had thought was dead centre wasn’t….but I guess I will learn to measure better…ok measure at all rather than judge by eye, patience is not my strong point).

A night of drying later I made my cushion in the meantime, cutting the foam to size and sewing the fabric in place tightly over it. 

And after all that work we have our new finished table which I am really happy with and think it looks amazing in the living room helping to lighten the space dramatically.

ImageImage

 

Although it ended up costing around £60 – £70 mark, I think something similar in the shops would have set us back over £100 so I am defo happy that Jonathan found the perfect table for this project 😀

 

 

Leave a Reply

