What do you want?

9 May

Agghh where is this year going? 

It has come to me that I have 6 months now to prepare for my first craft stall. I did have 11 months. I have 6. And I have no stock. 

Then it came to me that part of the reason I don’t have anything decided is because I don’t know what people actually want or look for when visiting craft fairs! It’s like when I am asked what I want for dinner. This question is far too broad and I am left thinking of all the possibilities as I flick from burritos to mac and cheese to a fancy chicken and red wine jus to a microwave pizza. It’s endless. And we usually end up with humus and pitta which is less than inspiring. I don’t want humus and pitta!

I want a three course meal with champagne and after dinner chocolates with a glass of port when people come to my stall! 

So I put the question to you lovely people who wonder by with what would you like to see on a craft stall where the owners main selling point starts at “Original illustrations”. 

It’s broad, it’s undefined and I have 2meters of table to fill. O and its in December so CHRISTMAS!

Postcards, prints, gift boxes with special designs on, wood burnt goods such as Christmas tree decorations and chopping boards. What can you think of that I haven’t even considered? Please, throw your ideas at me, whisper them to me on the wind, write a haiku;

If that’s how you roll 

Such ideas I am seeking 

A banquet of thoughts!

 

3 Responses to “What do you want?”

  1. haleyms May 12, 2014 at 12:35 pm #

    Post cards are good. What I’ve noticed when I go to craft shows is that if it costs more than 5 dollars, people are skeptical of getting it. People like trinkets.

    Oh, if you can’t think of “enough” too you could always do caricatures, people love that too!

    • bexonwhite May 12, 2014 at 7:35 pm #

      Yay one vote for postcards! I do like a good postcard and yeah I was aiming to have a good selection of cheaper items then a few more expensive ones just for on the off chance of a big sale – a few large prints of my favourite pictures etc.

      Having been to the previous show, sketches wouldn’t go down well as there is no room to have people hanging around in front of your stall 😦

      • haleyms May 13, 2014 at 2:13 am #

        Take a picture and do it off of that, tell them they can pick it up before they leave and don’t have to sit around posing for it

Leave a Reply

