Looking for an Illustrator?

13 May

Today’s topic comes about from the amount of emails I receive that all feature the same thing. A brusque one line email “I am looking for an illustrator, are you available?” These emails have no introduction, no hello, no name, and no idea what the project is. They lead you to ignore them as they run along the same theme of many scam emails. If I reply to this email asking for more details, am I just confirming that this is a live email address ripe for more junk emails and scam attempts?

If you are truly looking to take on an Illustrator try and include more details. Things that I like to see in an email are:

Introduction – A hello from you and where you came across my details.

What your project is – Give a description of your project. It doesn’t need to be in depth for an intro email, just whether its a full comic, a one off illustration, a logo that kind of thing.

What you are expecting from me –

  • What do you need created, a number of illustrations, a one off?
  • A time scale! When do you need the project competed by? If you set an unrealistic time goal then the level of detail and work able to be put in might not live up to your expectations. Leave your Illustrator time to create something to the specs you require.
  • Budget. No-one likes talking money, it’s almost a taboo to suggest that you will pay for a service but being upfront from the start avoids problems down the line. Illustrators will not work for free or with the promise of future promotion of their work.

I generally don’t like attachments in an opening email as I still don’t know the source they are coming from and will avoid opening them until later emails and a string of conversation has been started.

All these things give me more of an idea of what you are expecting from me and whether I would be able to take on your project. It starts a line of conversation and makes me want to reply back as I know I am not wasting my time on an email that has been bcc’d to hundreds of people and replies are going to be easily ignored.

After all that, if an Illustrator replies back to you and you decide you no longer require their services, email them back! It sucks taking the time to reply back to a request and then to hear nothing. Everyone is busy and yes you may have contacted several illustrators but just take that extra minute to do the common courtesy of at least acknowledging the reply you receive. Even if it is to say that you no longer require their services and to thank them for their time.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

